Check out our events calendar and join in the fun at Lochore Meadows
ABOUT THE PARK
Lochore Meadows Country Park has a fascinating history.
The first signs of habitation in the area was approximately 4,000 years ago during the Bronze Age. Little remains of these ancestors but much more visible is Inchgall Castle which is found immediately upon turning into the park. Originally surrounded by water the earliest parts of the castle were built in the 14th century by Adam de Vallance.
More recently, the area was home to seven pits - the Lindsay Pit which opened in 1873, the Nellie Pit 1880, the Aitken Pit 1895, Lumphinnans Pit 1896, Glencraig Pit 1896, the Mary Pit 1904 and Benarty Pit 1945. All of these pits closed between 1959 and 1966 and left behind a scarred landscape. Reclamation work began in 1967 and over several years the area was transformed into the wonderful landscape you can experience to this day.
Lochore Meadows is home to a number of organisations that work together to maintain the popular attraction. The park is managed by Fife Council and the 9-hole golf course is managed by the Fife Golf Trust. The Council’s Outdoor Education team is also based within Lochore Meadows and deliver a range of exciting land and water based activities.
A new golf and football pavilion has been built for the Country Park. Click here for more information.
The new visitor centre is now open.
It consists of:
- a café
- two educational rooms with a retractable wall for flexible use
- an outdoor decking area
- public toilets with disabled access and baby changing facilities
- an interpretation area that displays information about the history of the park and interactive displays to help people navigate around the park and get the most from their visit.